March 26, 2021

India vs England 2nd ODI: pressure on tourists

Friday 26th March 2021 (Pune):  Over the last two months, twice in as many formats has India come back with a bang to walk away with the series, first in Tests followed by T20Is. On Friday, India will have a chance to seal the ODI series and World champion England will be desperate to keep it alive.

The England team management, while releasing an update on the second ODI, confirmed on Thursday evening that Liam Livingstone will make his ODI debut. Dawid Malan who was part of the England contingent as a cover, has been drafted into the squad in place of Morgan and will be available for selection.

ndia, on the other hand, has plenty of options to replace injured Shreyas Iyer.

Having suffered a shoulder injury on Tuesday, an Indian team spokesperson confirmed that the batsman has been “ruled of the remainder of the series”.

India will thus have to decide whether to replace him with left-handed Rishabh Pant or hand Suryakumar Yadav an ODI debut. Both Pant and Surya have been in fine form and will be hoping to get some game-time.

Kuldeep Yadav, who spent most of the last four months on the bench, deserves to be given a longer rope. The chinaman may need some time to rediscover the mojo.

For two years before the COVID-19 outbreak, Kuldeep and Yuzvendra Chahal had emerged as a lethal spin combination in white-ball cricket. But with Kuldeep losing zing – loss of confidence and loss of pace, something that works against a spinner in modern-day cricket – he has moved south in the preferred spinners’ list.

The second ODI could be a make-or-break opportunity for Kuldeep.

Ahead of the series, there were questions on the context of three one-dayers in a T20 World Cup year, but if India triumphs, it will snatch the No. 1 ODI ranking from England.

The teams (from):

INDIA: Virat Kohli (Capt.), Rohit Sharma (Vice-capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (w.k.), KL Rahul (w.k.), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T. Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.

ENGLAND: Jos Buttler (c)(w.k.), Jonny Bairstow (w.k.), Sam Billings (w.k.), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Livingstone, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood, Dawid Malan.

The match starts at 1.30 p.m.

Live on Star Sports


Source: Sportstar

You may also like

July 23, 2021
Bhageerathi Amma, the oldest equivalency course student passes away

Bhageerathi Amma returned to studies in 2019 and cleared her papers as a 105-year-old student Bhageerathi Amma, the oldest equivalency course student from Kerala, passed away at Prakkulam due to age-related ailments. A recipient of the Nari Shakti Puraskar, country's highest civilian honour for women, she was 107 when she died. She had cleared Class […]

July 23, 2021
Mamata Banerjee elected Trinamool Parliamentary Party chairperson

West Bengal 23: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was unanimously chosen as the chairperson of its Parliamentary Party placing her in a pivotal position to coordinate with the other opposition parties. After TMC’s victory in West Bengal Assembly elections in May this year, the party has been positioning itself as unifier for all opposition parties, a […]

July 23, 2021
Released Manipur scribe to move Supreme Court against NSA

His petition against sedition law is pending in apex court. Manipur journalist Kishorchandra Wangkhem, released after more than two months in jail, said he was considering petitioning the Supreme Court for scrapping the National Security Act (NSA). His petition against the sedition law is pending in the apex court. “I will talk to my lawyers […]

July 21, 2021
Border situation with Mizoram fragile: Assam CM

The chief ministers of the region will be present at a meeting of the North East Space Applications Centre (NESAC), to be chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Tuesday said that the situation along the interstate border with Mizoram is currently “fragile” and it will take some time to resolve […]

Get The latest news, opinion and much more from north east part of India and India on Midage

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram