Govt has formed panel to select members and chairman of APSC: Patowary tells Assembly

Guwahati: The government of Assam has constituted a panel to select members and chairman of APSC, State Minister for Transport Industries and Commerce and Parliamentary Affairs Department Chandra Mohan Patowary informed on Monday.

Patowary was responding to questions related to the APSC scam raised by Dhing MLA Aminul Islam during the first day of the ongoing autumn session of the Assam Assembly.

He also informed the assembly that three members of APSC besides its chairman have been arrested so far.

The two accused members identified as Basanta Kumar Doley and Samedur Rahman were arrested by Police in connection with Case No 159/2017 registered at Bhangagarh PS and Case No 936/2016 registered at Dibrugarh PS regarding involvement in carrying out corrupt practices in the recruitment examination conducted by the Assam Public Service Commission, stated Patowary.

The members of APSC who are yet to be arrested are Brig. Ranjit Borthakur, Dr Anupam Kr Roy, Dhrubojyoti Hazarika, Patowary mentioned further.

Also Read: PLA troops attempt provocative military movements to change status quo